PDA

View Full Version : opacity map alpha channel


fish
12-11-2007, 08:40 AM
Well this question goes somewhere between textures and rendering:
I have a tree with opacity maps on the leaves (which are simple quads). Standard material, default scanline (i'm only outputing the alpha channel now for comp)

How do i get the b/w bitmap on the opacity channel to affect the alpha output? Cause i can't comp the rendering right if the leaves come out as rectangles in the alpha render.

Please help

zek0
12-11-2007, 09:35 AM
In opacity map go to bitmap parameters, find "Mono Channel Output" and set it to alpha.

fish
12-11-2007, 10:05 AM
i can't, its disabled.
The jpg i'm using for the opacity is a 24 bit bitmap

Should i be using a png or tga with an alpha channel or shoud i be using a grayscale bitmap on the opacity channel?

zek0
12-11-2007, 10:22 AM
Yeah You need to use a format that supports alpha channel, png or tga or anything else with alpha channel.

poopipe
12-11-2007, 04:31 PM
you can use a separate greyscale bitmap in the opacity map - in Max at least.