>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

top-table-gradient
Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > Modelling, Lighting & Rendering Help
bottom-table-gradient

Old 05-10-2006, 05:51 PM   #1
xtremist999

Grainy renders in Vray

Hi there,

Hi there,

I've lit an interior scene up with predominately V-Ray lights and I've turn on GI. My settings are, Min rate: -4, Max rate: -1 and HSph. subdivs: 30. The rest are default settings.

I'm still fairly new to V-Ray and I'm wondering why my render looks so grainy? What kind of settings can I change to reduce the grain?

See the attached image
http://www.geocities.com/xtremist999/006a.jpg

Thanks!

Last edited by xtremist999; 05-10-2006 at 05:54 PM..
xtremist999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 06:01 PM   #2
Antievo-3DT
The Viking Moderator

Send a message via MSN to Antievo-3DT Send a message via Skype™ to Antievo-3DT
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Silver: Contributing to the forums with 1,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! 
Total Awards: 2
Quick Reply:
This is a sample/subdiv problem in the renderer or in the material you are using. My guess would be that the samples in your VRay material and/or VRay light are not high enough. Can you please post more spesific material, render and lighting settings? That would help determine the problem.

Best Wishes,
Antievo.
Antievo-3DT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 11:47 PM   #3
Kage
Perfectionist...

Send a message via MSN to Kage
Awards Showcase