>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home
 


top-table-gradient
Go Back   3DTotal Forums > CG News > Latest Visuals
bottom-table-gradient

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-03-2003, 12:55 PM   #1
Nikitas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Nikitas
Are TGA's 10bit?

Hello all. I am a film editor and I am experimenting with HD at the moment. I have a very simple question for anyone that can answer it. I want to export HD captured material from Premier, After Effects or Combustion.
From After Effects so far I can do it but only as an .avi . Combustion I havent tried yet. The main question here is that I want to keep the 10bits my material has and I am wondering if I can export in TGA sequence format. Will that still be 10bit?
Is there any plug-in for any of the above mentioned that will allow me to export to 10bit TGA sequence or even .avi and so be able to keep my HD quality?
Anyways these are a lot for a first time post, so I stop here and wait for your help.
Thank you everybody.
Nikitas
Nikitas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2003, 02:02 PM   #2
kuman
James Ku
 
kuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Culver City
Posts: 832
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hmm i've never heard of a ten bit targa before. i use targa files every day for textures in our engine.

as i know it
1 bit - all black and all white (no gray)
8 bit - gray scale
24 bit - rgb with no alpha
and 32 bit - rgb with alpha

hope this helps

-k
kuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2003, 03:00 PM   #3
Nikitas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Nikitas
A 32 bit with alpha is 8steps image. I am talking about 10 steps image here. think of it like this: the degrading of colour in 10steps is more smooth and accurate than in 8steps. I probably misled you with that 10 bit in the first place. Still the question remains the same, but thanks for the answer.
In video and film all equipment are using 8bit engines. In HD (high definition) the engines are 10bit for proccesing colour which is different from the 24 or 32 bits of the TGA's.
Nikitas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all images displayed on this site are copyright the original artists and may not be reproduced, copied or published elsewhere without their express permission