>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

top-table-gradient
Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > Modelling, Lighting & Rendering Help
bottom-table-gradient

Old 30-09-2009, 01:12 AM   #1
Harmit

3DS MAX: How to merge (or union) 2 or more elements inside of a mesh object?

Hey folks.

I'm rather new to 3DS but learning fast. I've used Google's Sketchup a lot, so things that used to be so easy have proven to be rather difficult to find in 3DS.

For instance, if I'm in Vertex, Edge, Polygon or Element mode and I have 2 elements that I want to simply merge together at the points where they are intersecting, in Sketchup and select both objects, right-click and choose to intersect the objects. This builds all the necessary lines and verts necessary.

In 3DS, I've learned about Boolean -> Union, and the Utilities -> Combine. While they work okay on 2 separate objects, they do not work when inside an Editable Poly or Mesh (I use Poly unless I'm having a hard time welding verts).

Can anyone tell me what is the most common ways to merge 2 or more different elements of one Poly/Mesh?

Thanks a bunch!
Harmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2009, 01:13 AM   #2
bobi
Scorpion

attach button.
Old 30-09-2009, 01:43 AM   #3
Harmit

Hi bobi,

I've used attach before and this seems to attach two objects together.

For example, if I have a Box and a Plane and I convert both of them to an Editable Poly, I then select one or the other, click the Attach button and then select the other object. This makes them one object -- however, this does not intersect them.

What if, at this point, I want to move the Plane so that it cuts the box in half, and I now want to merge them both together so that verts are created on the Plane surrounding the box so that I can select (in polygon selection mode) one half of the box and remove it leaving the other half sticking out of the plane.