>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home
 


Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > CG Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-05-2003, 01:20 PM   #31
Kit
Registered User
 
Kit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bs. As. - Argentina
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kit
Hum? I shift+drag all the time in "editable poly"....
look, (I started from a box):
Attached Images
 
__________________
"There's no point to any of this. It's all just a... a random lottery of meaningless tragedy and a series of near escapes.
So I take pleasure in the details."
Kit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 02:08 PM   #32
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
that issue has been corrected in max 5 guys....i knnow, in max 4 u cant do that....hehe...but the new poly object in max 5 rulez!! you will never again use edit mesh....
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 05:18 PM   #33
CountZero
Registered User
 
CountZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok, i have a similar question even though it's a bit off-topic, what's the difference between using normal editable mesh compared to using the modifier "edit mesh" ? (or editable poly / edit poly-modifier)

also, i've noticed that if you change from editable mesh to editable poly as you work, the old polygons will be smoothed out like meshsmooth, but the new polygons made in polygon mode will have sharper edges...
is there a way to get all the polygons to act the same?
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 05:23 PM   #34
CountZero
Registered User
 
CountZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
question number two:
will the highlighted polygons cause problems when skinning, animating etc. ? maybe not the best example pic, but if some polys are streched out (even if it's more than shown here), does it matter?
Attached Images
 
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 03:13 PM   #35
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1) its always better to work on an editable poly than a mesh with the edit poly modifier on it, u can do the same and i saves memoy by not having multiple modifiers in the stack. They mantained the edit mesh modifier only for compatibility purposes (if u load a 3ds max 2.0 scene for instance...)

2) yes, they will, u have destryed the flow of some edgeloops there...it would help if u post a unsmoothed screengrab so i can see the low poly cage.

hope i helped, cheers!

PS: post the unsmoothed version dude!
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 06:43 PM   #36
CountZero
Registered User
 
CountZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the help! here is the low poly version:
Attached Images
 
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 07:02 PM   #37
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
try this...u may add some edgeloops on the shoulder, but maybe u can use the to further detail the shoulder muscles...dunno

hope it helps:
Attached Images
 
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2003, 07:55 PM   #38
CountZero
Registered User
 
CountZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok, some more on the same topic, i havn't figured yet how much the polygons have to be stretched to make a real problem of it... on this pic some areas are stretched, but compared to the last pic i posted it's not as much as it doesn't destroy nearby polygons. but is it still a problem (the pink fields)?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by CountZero; 31-05-2003 at 07:57 PM..
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2003, 03:07 PM   #39
Holo
Rusty Wireframe
 
Holo's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 616
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Silver: Contributing to the forums with 1,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! 
Total Awards: 1
Thumbs up Great thread Rage !

As you may or may not know, I use Lightwave.
I used to use max back in the day, before Meshsmothing had been refined to this point, and i must say that im impressed with how well it works in max. Lightwaves Subdivision engine or "Subpatch" works a little differently, to be truthful, i think Max's works a lot better...in that it actually smooths the edges alot better than Subpatching does, I will look into this abit, I hope I dont have to go back to max now that im finally Comfortable with LW..
__________________
"Despite the High cost of Living, It Remains Popular"
-Mark. K.

*Lightwave User*
Holo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 01:02 PM   #40
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i think that u wont have problems in a case like that CountZero, hope that what i posted before has helped u....

cheers!

ps: thanks Holo my man!!
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 01:24 PM   #41
Incitatus
Murdoch? That crazy fool!
 
Incitatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by rage
try this...u may add some edgeloops on the shoulder, but maybe u can use the to further detail the shoulder muscles...dunno

hope it helps:
Nice one rage! the paintover I mean.
__________________
Panic, it crept up my spine like first rising vibes of an acid frenzy. All these horrible realities began to dawn on me. Here I was, alone in Las Vegas, completely twisted on drugs..

Liv

www.lastgreatwar.net
Incitatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 01:31 PM   #42
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks dude!
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2003, 09:37 PM   #43
Shadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hiho,

I have question to the first posting in this thread. There the last picture shows a technique "how to prepare a sub-d cage....".
Now my question: how can I do it? Easy cut a new edge in there or are there any other methods which are more precisely?


thank you
Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2003, 02:36 PM   #44
rage
I am Ecthelion´s Bane
 
rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: BS.AS. - Argentina
Posts: 274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
of course there is! select a ring of edges and hit connect, then select the edgeloop u just did with that and tweak it to your needs...woila!

cheers!
__________________
"...one ring to rule them all"
http://www.axelk.com.ar
rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2003, 02:16 AM   #45
Zytrex
I am mad, you know.
 
Zytrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Silver: Contributing to the forums with 1,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! 
Total Awards: 1
Hey Rage, I was going through your original post and couldn't figure out how you set up those edges to smooth and bevel like that. First, I wasn't even sure what part I was looking at, but I finally figured it was the corner of a box. Is that correct? If not, then I'm really lost. If that is what I'm looking at, then how did you get it like that? I mean, except for going in and manually cutting and moving edges and vertices all over the place until they're where you want them, I couldn't figure it out. I tried using many different combinations of tools, in both edit mesh and edit poly, and I couldn't figure it out. What editing mode are you using anyway? Do you think that, instead of just the before and after pic, you could show four or five pics along with what you actually did in each step?

Thanks! ..... Oh, and that reminds me: Update da BALROG!
__________________
If you had a neck and I had a hand, I'd squeeze your brain, which is your body, right out of the top of your head, which does not exist!

Discuss Lighting Here
Discuss Subdivision Surfaces Here
Discuss Materials Here
Zytrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all images displayed on this site are copyright the original artists and may not be reproduced, copied or published elsewhere without their express permission