>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Archives > THE OLD THREEDY CHALLENGE FORUMS > AVATAR

Old 27-12-2008, 03:08 AM   #1
Kageko

Heya, im a 3d artist usually, but i wanted to work on my concepting for the holidays (and hopefully keep practising in between models) so i figured why not throw myself into the fire completely and enter a competition on the 2d side instead for once.

Anyway im in, and ive been sitting here the last 4.5 hours and trying my hand at designing a humanoid that isnt human. I started out from an old (well just a day rly) figuredrawing i made, and then i went berserk with a chalk brush for a while, trying to make the damn thing look inhuman, i think i spent 2 hours just doing that trying to find something that worked. I think i found something fairly interesting, ill see if i stick to this one, she might be a bit too orcish for my liking, but i think it might just work.

Anyway, for the story, lets see here im sort of half-winging it here so bear with me, i was thinking that this race would be a shamanistic and peaceful people, and i also wanted them to be necromancers, lets see how we can make that fit together eh?

So the Sha'El-race inhabits a planet stuck in perpetual twilight, and while the ancient egyptians of earth prayed to the sungod, these people would pray to the god of darkness. Their peaceful god, which has no name, blesses his people with the gift of supernatural vision and letting their priests manipulate the spirits and bodies of the dead to whatever purpose they see fit. Not wanting to disrupt the fine balance of their world, the Sha'El have taken great care to limit their use of necromancy, finding other ways to hunt the dangerous animals they eat and use for clothes, waste not, want not.