>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home
 


Go Back   3DTotal Forums > The Creative Ones > Realtime/Low poly art

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-08-2007, 07:38 PM   #46
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scaryjack, basically you can do two things to generate a normal map:

1) Paint a "bump map/height map". Then convert it into a normal map. This option is good for doors, cubes or simple planar objects and is very fast.

2) Model a high density mesh ( millions of polygons ) + a lowpoly mesh(that will be used in your engine ). Using the highpoly mesh you can project the detail into the lowpoly one. This option is the one that gives you best result but can be slow to generate the normal map and requires to sculpt the highpoly mesh(which can be tedious).

So the first is to choose if you are going to generate the normal map from a height map or using the high/low mesh approach.

You can see some good basic tutorials here:

http://www.poopinmymouth.com/tutoria...l_workflow.htm
http://www.bencloward.com/tutorials_normal_maps1.shtml
http://www.game-artist.net/forums/sp...l-mapping.html

Hope it helps
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2007, 05:45 AM   #47
scaryjack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thx alot so far!
scaryjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:00 AM   #48
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xNormal 3.11.1 released.
Basically solved some bugs + added "load mesh folder" feature to load highpoly chunks more easy.
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:05 AM   #49
andy circus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi santy, I really like XNormal, I like how sharp they turn out,
but I'm having trouble with little artifacts,
I'm guessing the high poly is dipping below the low poly,
illustrated with this little illustration .
I'm using a OBV cage, and have been experimenting all day,
increasing a little bit the rays distance and flicking switches,
but always it turns out the same.
Do I increase the backward rays, or do I have to adjust the base mesh?
Thanks for any insight and this great utility!
Also, would you ever think about creating a game engine with this?
The normal maps look sweet in your viewer, no seams!





Last edited by andy circus; 12-10-2007 at 04:37 AM..
andy circus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 02:00 PM   #50
bb0x
Artificial Soundwave
 
bb0x's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the Netherrealms
Posts: 804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to bb0x
Andy Circus, you could just increase the size of your highpoly, or decrease the size of your lowpoly and match them up as good as you can. It shouldnt be to hard to do with a projection cage.
__________________
http://www.bb0x.com new portfolio I'm working on.
http://bb0x.wordpress.com/
bb0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:36 PM   #51
andy circus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh, I didn't think about messing with the scale a little bit, thanks!
Awesome!
andy circus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 04:45 PM   #52
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You need to adjust cage in a way that covers completely the highres mesh. Only the cage... you don't need to alter the mesh geometry at all.

Don't use uniform ray distances unless your mesh is very simple(a sphere, cylinder, etc)... try always to use cages, will give you always better results.
When using the cages method remember to check in the "use cage" in the mesh list corresponding slot... or the cage won't be used even if is present.

Also remember the cages are only stored if you re-save the mesh as OVB or SBM.

And remember too you can use "external cages" stored in different files, use the built-in xNormal cage editor or the 3dsmax SBM exporter with the Projection Modifier.

Other thing... xNormal does not like small meshes ( radius less than one unit ). That's due to floating point numbers precission. If you really need to manage small meshes you can

1) Scale the mesh in your favourite modeling program, then re-export it.

or

2) Use the "mesh scale" feature in xNormal ( located in the lowpoly and highpoly mesh slots ).

Of course the open #2 is better because you don't need to re-export the mesh. I usually work with meshes with an approximated radius of 100 units.... and centered near the world origin at (0,0,0).

Quote:
Also, would you ever think about creating a game engine with this?
I'm making one, but is far far far to be completed!
Also wanna port xNormal to linux some day...

Hope it helped.

Last edited by jogshy; 12-10-2007 at 04:53 PM..
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 05:34 PM   #53
andy circus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogshy View Post


I'm making one, but is far far far to be completed!
Also wanna port xNormal to linux some day...
Thats a good idea for the game engine! I'm using the free Disney panda3d.
[EDIT] Ahhh, scale! I was loading my little miniature model!
Thanks Santy everything looks great now! Good luck with your game engine 8D

Last edited by andy circus; 14-10-2007 at 01:26 AM..
andy circus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2008, 11:59 PM   #54
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Version 3.14.1 was released!
http://www.xnormal.net
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 07:12 PM   #55
bb0x
Artificial Soundwave
 
bb0x's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the Netherrealms
Posts: 804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to bb0x
hey, question... where's the problem when it gives this error: 'Unexpected error rendering the triangles for maps'

and how to fix it?
__________________
http://www.bb0x.com new portfolio I'm working on.
http://bb0x.wordpress.com/
bb0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:44 PM   #56
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb0x View Post
hey, question... where's the problem when it gives this error: 'Unexpected error rendering the triangles for maps'
and how to fix it?
You commented you were using the old 3.14.0 beta 1 version. Can you try it with the latest 3.14.2 final pls?
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2008, 07:02 AM   #57
Adroit.jrk
JRK Mamber
 
Adroit.jrk's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 194
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Gold: Contributing to the forums with 2,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! 
Total Awards: 1
Hi Jogshy it is giving me error during downloading, when it is approaching to 13%. I don't know that to do. Can you tell me downloading instruction.
JRK
__________________
Regard
JRK
Adroit.jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2008, 12:32 AM   #58
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adroit.jrk View Post
Hi Jogshy it is giving me error during downloading, when it is approaching to 13%. I don't know that to do. Can you tell me downloading instruction.
JRK
I'm gonna upload the latest version to a public sharing web site and post the link here once is uploaded.
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2008, 05:00 PM   #59
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Uploaded the 3.14.2 at http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4Z6U0JZ9
The 3.14.3 is comming soon btw
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2008, 04:33 PM   #60
jogshy
Registered User
 
jogshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xNormal 3.14.4 has been released!




- SSAO in the DX10 graphics driver
- Fake indirect lighting in the DX10 graphics driver. Added a Cornell box example to show this.
- Recompiled using SSE for extra speed
- Improved a bit the quality of the raytracing graphics driver ( I have secret plans for that )
- Corrected several bugs

Last edited by jogshy; 29-03-2008 at 06:56 AM..
jogshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all images displayed on this site are copyright the original artists and may not be reproduced, copied or published elsewhere without their express permission