>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home
 


Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > General software and hardware help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 11:50 AM   #91
poopipe
conscientious objector
 
poopipe's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cambridge, uk
Posts: 4,313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 130 Times in 124 Posts
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Gold: Contributing to the forums with 2,000+ posts - Issue reason: too much free time Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! The Golden Eye: Producing art worthy of being linked from the frontpage of either forums or 3DTotal.com - Issue reason: he finished The Golden Grenade III: For participating in the Dominance War III and successfully finishing, well done soldier! - Issue reason: I finished Dominance War 3 Thumbs up!:  - Issue reason:  Thumbs up!:  - Issue reason: For doing a great job in helping out! Low Poly Game Art - Gold: Winner of a low poly challenge! - Issue reason: For Excellence at Low Poly Art - Well Done! Low Poly Game Art - Gold: Winner of a low poly challenge! - Issue reason: For Excellence at Low Poly Art - Well Done! 
Total Awards: 9
it's probably impossible for a package to tell whether the objects are actually identical or not - you could analyse form and vertex ordering etc. but there's no guarantee unless a record is kept of where the object in question originated. somebody cleverer than me might be able to think of a means of doing it but I can't.


If I had hundreds of copies that really should've been instances I'd write a script that aligned instances of an object with everything in the current selection.
__________________
work pigs!!


http://johnsarthole.blogspot.com/
poopipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 07:37 PM   #92
poopipe
conscientious objector
 
poopipe's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: cambridge, uk
Posts: 4,313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 130 Times in 124 Posts
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Gold: Contributing to the forums with 2,000+ posts - Issue reason: too much free time Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! The Golden Eye: Producing art worthy of being linked from the frontpage of either forums or 3DTotal.com - Issue reason: he finished The Golden Grenade III: For participating in the Dominance War III and successfully finishing, well done soldier! - Issue reason: I finished Dominance War 3 Thumbs up!:  - Issue reason:  Thumbs up!:  - Issue reason: For doing a great job in helping out! Low Poly Game Art - Gold: Winner of a low poly challenge! - Issue reason: For Excellence at Low Poly Art - Well Done! Low Poly Game Art - Gold: Winner of a low poly challenge! - Issue reason: For Excellence at Low Poly Art - Well Done! 
Total Awards: 9
In short, no
__________________
work pigs!!


http://johnsarthole.blogspot.com/
poopipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 05:55 AM   #93
pranimations
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatsniper View Post
I know it's an old question but I'll answer it anyway.

A: Duplicate your object and add a Push modifier. Set a very small amount and apply a wireframe material to the object, this will draw the wireframe over the textured model.
I be acquainted with a better way for this and its easier because you don't require to copy all of your items...well the method based on the mantel-ray-renderer...set it to use it... and create a "composite"-type mat.
pranimations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2014, 09:29 AM   #94
Golderz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm a student working on a project for an end of year folio. I've been using 3ds Max now for 14ish months but my teacher has only taught me basic stuff and the rest I have learned has come from the infinite wisdom of the Internet. My question is this:
Q: I've chamfered the edges of a box and I am trying to subtract that box away from an editable poly using the Boolean function. When I select Operand B both boxes get deleted. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong but I sure would love some help.

P.S I struggle completely with computer talk so if you could use the most baby words you could to help me out that would be awesome as well
Golderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2014, 01:46 PM   #95
Robbert543
Mental Raytard
 
Robbert543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,854
Thanks: 18
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Robbert543
Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Silver: Contributing to the forums with 1,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Speed Modelling - Silver: 2nd place in a speed modelling challenge! - Issue reason: 2nd place in a speed modelling challenge 
Total Awards: 3
post a few images of what you have and what you are trying to achieve please..?
__________________
Thanks for liking and sharing my Facebook Page!
Robbert543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2014, 06:29 AM   #96
Golderz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

I sorted it out. The first picture was the problem one though. When I would subtract the lighter blue shapes it wouldn't create the desired result in picture two. The problem was the extruded polys around the edges of the wall. In the second picture I extruded the polys after I booleaned the windows. Why does this make a difference?
Attached Images
  
Golderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2016, 11:15 AM   #97
jacobdick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golderz View Post
I sorted it out. The first picture was the problem one though. When I would subtract the lighter blue shapes it wouldn't create the desired result in picture two. The problem was the extruded polys around the edges of the wall. In the second picture I extruded the polys after I booleaned the windows. Why does this make a difference?
Hi,

I am also trying to figure out the same. Have you figured it out? If so, please share how you done it so might be useful to others as well, most importantly myself

Thanks!
jacobdick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2016, 02:31 AM   #98
3dnewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,
I have a problem with general viewport menu [+], on the upper left corner of viewport...unfortunately it's missing... I tried setting the user interface on deafult but nothing happens..what should i do?
Thanks!
3dnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
all images displayed on this site are copyright the original artists and may not be reproduced, copied or published elsewhere without their express permission