>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > CG Chat

Old 12-05-2010, 07:08 PM   #1
CG_guy007

need some career advice/direction

Hey Guys!

First A little BG info:

I've been a CG artist for about a year now. However I've always been an artist... since very young, self taught: with a substantial amount of formal training and practice through institutions (high-school and college). In this I have never found it difficult applying this knowledge to a new-medium. I started out learning CG in Modo, fell in love with-it (CG) right away, like "this is what I want to do type of thing". Then I moved on to ZB... and picking it up right-away. In fact the more I learn about ZB, the less and less I find the need to use my modeler beyond scene set-up, and rendering.

Anyway... none of this is relevant... but after doing this a year now... I know where my strengths are and also what I enjoy doing most... and thats sculpting, and or creating things of an organic nature in general, more so than anything, character work. But I'm at the point where I would really like too focus, and hone in on a specific trade.... and want to know where the work is for digital sculptors? What else beyond the gaming industry or game assets can I shop myself around as a digital sculptor, or use my digital-sculpting HR skills to create revenue for myself? Generally speaking: a place where optimizing a 2-5mil sculpt down to 15k or less is not a requirement?

Freelance, or at a company doesn't matter so much, but where, and what: Concept Art, pre-viz, post (Such as a pinup or promo art), print (both 3D and 2D)... where should I be looking, where are these jobs?
CG_guy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
Crispy4004

Awards Showcase