>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Help, Advice and Chat > CG Chat

Old 23-03-2009, 12:53 AM   #1
artist_cg

freelance without a contract

ok here is a story , i hope i won't look stupid , anyway i found this advertisement on some site , a freelance work to make cars for a game company , so i sent my portfolio , now the problem is ,
when i asked the owner about money ,
he said " we all get paid after selling the products " ,
so i said " its ok" ,
now my question , is this how freelance works , no contract , and i just do the job and wait for them to sell then have the money ,
btw the money varies with the selling , " if we sell alot u gain alot , if not then u won't gain alot" ,
ok why did i do it , i am still a student , building my portfolio , i thought to add experience to my resume , thats all ,
thanks for ur time

btw i don't care about money now , but just wanted to know ,
how to guarantee that he won't take the models and forget about me ?!
artist_cg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 03:48 PM   #2
moririn

that sounds wrong or strange...even if there were no contract there should be some sort of guarantee to protect u from exploitation..don have a professional opinion tho..

Last edited by moririn; 13-04-2009 at 03:01 PM..
moririn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 03:57 PM   #3
artist_cg

again i am a maya user , so no ideas
artist_cg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2009, 02:11 PM   #4
Lynette-3dt
3DTotal Content Manager

Awards Showcase
Threedy Top Poster - Silver: Contributing to the forums with 1,000+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Threedy Top Poster - Bronze: Contributing to the forums with 100+ posts - Issue reason: Target reached! Thumbs up!:  - Issue reason: For helping out with the Dom War and the Avatar competition. 
Total Awards: 3