>: CG Forums on 3dtotal - The best forums for CG artists :.
threedy forums home

Go Back   3DTotal Forums > Archives > THE OLD THREEDY CHALLENGE FORUMS > AVATAR

Old 16-01-2009, 01:31 PM   #1
outlander

Awards Showcase
The Platinum Eye: Only 1 or 2 given out per year for posting the most incredible art ever seen! - Issue reason: For producing some winning artwork in the Avatar interforum competition. 
Total Awards: 1
Avatar - 3d - outlander - Tree's Madness

Hi everybody,
my name is Gianluca Venturini, I'm 19 and I'm Italian. I'm not a real artist, but I really enjoy 3d graphic. So, my concept is very simple: my avatar will be a tree fallen into madness. I will use:

Hexagon 2.5 to model the character, objects and buildings
Zbrush to add detail to the main model
Vue 7 XStream to build the landscape and texturing/ rendering
Poser, Daz Studio to add some variety in characters
Photoshop for postwork
and maybe C4d for some special effects, but I'm not shure about it

pictures will come very soon!

UPDATE: THE STORY BEHIND THE PICTURE

Hard times in Hacawry, northern land of the continent. The necromancers of the region have stopped their interest in reanimating death people, because they have found a new source of dark power.
Coming from the south, a priest gets lost in the "Grace Forest", where the necromancers have their cove. They catch him, and steal his book. In its pages, they find this inscription:

"for thou who have the power
there is no difference between
being, living and comprehending;
there is a secret wispered by the trees
about a relic hidden in the forest.
Thou, who are reading this pages,
search in the forest!
There you will find its Heart,
capable of conferring true life to plants and animals.
"

The relic is "the Dark Heart of the Forest", which is said to be the heart of a goddess fallen into madness due to the poisoning caused by a plant.